How can I connect to the PostgreSQL database on a server through an SSH Tunnel using R?

lokeshjoshi

I am trying to connect an RStudio Session to a PostgreSQL database which is on a server (Godaddy) through an SSH Tunnel. I am new to SSH port , especially using R Programming Language. I'm using Windows 10 x64. I have installed PostgreSQL 13, R 4.0.3, OpenSSH Server, and OpenSSH Client (for the Open SSH I am using the standard Windows versions). On the Digital Ocean Server I have Ubuntu 20.04.1, PostgreSQL 12+214ubuntu0.1, OpenSSH-server 1:8.2p1-4ubuntu0.2.

I have already generated a . PEM key pair (I will refer to the passphrase for the private key as 'passp') private key and enabled the public key in the Digital Ocean Server (DO Server from now on). Also, the DO Server is already configured to allow SSH connections (example ip: 123.456.789.01 and port:1234).

With the configuration mentioned above, I was able to connect PgAdmin to the Postgresql database in the DO Server. I logged in to the database using the following parameters:

• dbname="db"
  • doserver_user = "root"
  • db_user="username"
  • passqord="pwd"
I have managed to connect to the DO Server from my PC using the CMD application. The command that I am using is the following:

ssh -i "C:/path/to/ssh/key" -L 5555:127.0.0.1:1234 root@123.456.789.01

When this connection is open, I of course can access the DO Server. To verify that the local port 5555 was running, I ran the command netstat -ao | find "5555" and received the following:

TCP 127.0.0.1:5555 hp-PC:0 LISTENING 14132

I have tried a lot of different options for the code in R and therefore I have gotten several errors. With the initial code mentioned above I get the following error:

Error: SSL error: wrong version number
expected authentication request from a server, but received S

I also receive the same error if I change the host to "localhost", or the user to "username" (the user with which I access the database, not DO Server).